A Special Kind of Crazy

Those of you who have lived with me or know me very well are going to laugh a little at this, but I am completely admitting that I am a special kind of crazy. I’m not sure, but I think it can be classified as OCD. For example, I have a system of showering that must be followed each time I shower.

  1. Lather hair with shampoo.
  2. Brush teeth (Must be done before washing face or body so if any toothpaste or spit gets on me, it will be washed away.)
  3. Rinse shampoo out of hair.
  4. Put conditioner in hair.
  5. Shave, if needed & wash body. (This allows time for conditioner to effectively moisturize my hair.)
  6. Rinse conditioner out of hair.
  7. Wash face. (Must be done after the conditioner is rinsed from hair to ensure that no oil from the conditioner is left on the face to cause potential acne. Never mind the fact that I haven’t had acne in years.)

Not crazy enough for you? How about my flatware? My daily flatware is all multi-colored Fiesta dinnerware. I have 2 sets of Sapphire, 2 sets of yellow, 2 sets of Persimmon, and 1 set of Juniper, Chartreuse and Cinnabar. Well , I have it in my head that at any meal, each individual dining should be using a different colored plate and if at all possible, no one should have the same color plate. My dishes.In order to ensure this is the case, I like the plates to be put away in the cabinet so that you can grab 4 plates and never grab duplicates. When I put away clean plates, I put the first set of Sapphire, Yellow and Persimmon on the bottom. The Juniper, Chartreuse and Cinnabar next and the 2nd set of Sapphire, Yellow and Persimmon on top. Is it sinking in how my crazy works yet?

I could list examples until I was blue in the face. Towel folding…lists for every Listsoccasion…just ask my husband. I’m sure he can give you many more examples. The upside is that I accept that it is crazy and don’t expect Mike or anyone else to follow the rules I have in my head. If you know my family at all, you know that this kind of crazy is harmless and I’m quite fortunate that this is all “the crazy” that I have. The downside is that I will refold all the towels, rearrange the plates, reload the dishwasher, etc. when people aren’t looking.

Well, I have a question for you. I’ve been wondering if something else is part of “my crazy” or something normal. It concerns my kids. I have it in my head that my kids must be dressed in daytime clothes in the morning, pajamas in the evening and dress clothes whenever we are going out or having company. During my maternity leave, I have had lazy days when I hung out in my pajamas and I’ve let my son hang out in a diaper or his pajamas or…Evie didn’t spit up at all, so I left her in her pajamas. Anytime I do this, I feel horribly guilty. Like it is some kind of parental neglect not to have the kids dressed by 8:00 AM and in their pajamas by 8:00 PM. I’ve been frustrated with Mike when I’ve come home from work and found Gabe in a diaper or the pajamas he slept in. I try to keep that frustration to myself…because why should it bother me? Is this just another one of the rules in my head that are part of “my crazy”? What say you?

4 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    December 14, 2007 at 8:44 am

    😎 I HAVE lived with you and you are def. a victim of OCD. Ha. But as far as the kids being in their jammies all day… I say let ’em! Just rem. how good it feels when you get a “down” day to just be lazy and hang in yours! Kids get so many rules to follow and “teaching” days that a good dose of lazy is good once in awhile. πŸ˜€

  2. Frank said,

    December 17, 2007 at 11:46 am

    Yup…Crazy

    My thought on the PJ thing is “adult” clothes during the day is not a bad thing, that way when you do have a PJ day it is extra special.

  3. Frank said,

    December 17, 2007 at 11:51 am

    or…if you do PJ’s all the time then that will make “adult” clothes a special occasion.

    I guess, that is my “crazy” at work.

  4. Brenda said,

    December 23, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    I’m more than a tad OCD myself about some things. Like the tupperware needs to be put away stacked with the lid on so that I don’t have to search for it’s mate…or checking the front door a bajillions times to make sure it’s locked…or the oven/curling iron/anyhotapplicance to make sure it’s off a LOT. As for pj’s…I say more power to ya! If you’re just hanging out at home, I’m all about comfy clothes. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

