Pajama Friday

Today was my last weekday at home before returning to work from my maternity leave on Monday. So, I designated today Pajama Friday. I took a shower last night before bed and got up this morning did my hair and put my make-up on and then put on my prettiest pair of pajamas to wear the remainder of the day. I actually did get dressed mid-day when we had company and then I made Christmas cookies but after that, back in the PJ’s I went. You see, I wanted to relax and feel comfortable, yet beautiful all day. You see, as I mentioned in my post below, I can feel some guilt when I don’t get dressed, but this was different, because I did get dressed, I just got dressed in a clean pair of jammies…so no guilt!

It was a lot of fun making cookies too. I played Christmas music and remembered the days of decorating cookies with my Mother and little brother. Gabe helped a little and I can’t wait until the kids are a little older and can really enjoy cookie decorating and making a huge mess. Seriously, it is one of my fondest memories of a family Christmas tradition with my Mom.

Then tonight we enjoyed my new family Christmas tradition. When Mike and I first moved in together, we used to pull our mattress out into the living room and sleep in front of the Christmas tree. It felt so warm and magical snuggled up all night in front of the beautiful glow of the Christmas lights. The second year we had a tree, we did it again. I decided then that it was a tradition I wanted to keep going that would someday include our children. So, this year, we pulled out the air mattress and made the bed. Gabe, Evie and I fell asleep in front of the magical glow of our tree. It was wonderful…until the air mattress deflated an hour later. I actually suspected the air mattress had a leak, which I also suspect was caused by our cat. Doesn’t really matter though, it was so nice to fall asleep in front of the tree with my babies and perhaps we can either patch it or purchase a new one for future years.

3 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    December 15, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    :mrgreen: Sounds like a GREAT night on the air bed …. until maybe either the cat or too many “Run Agains” robbed you of air! LOL. 😆

  2. Jenifer said,

    December 15, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    LOL. I sent Mike a text message at work and let him know it deflated. He came home with a new one, so we are going to camp again tonight. I love that man!

  3. Michele said,

    December 17, 2007 at 10:41 am

    😉 He IS a good man. That was very very sweet!!


Leave a Reply

