Our New Life

I had no idea how much having another child would change our life. I mean, I knew it would be life changing but I just didn’t realize how much. There is no such thing as extra time. I’ve had several friends and family members alike try and call me in the evenings and I never answer. I promise it isn’t because I don’t love you and/or want to hear from you…but here is my day:

  • Anytime between 4:30 AM-6:00 AM: One or both child will awake requiring attention.
  • When Gabe wakes up, he talks for while and eventually will call out to me. Since I worry about him waking Dad, I try to get him when he first starts to amp up, but if I get him too early, he’s too groggy and grumpy to deal with. I then get him out of bed. I have to carry his blanket, pillow and a toy of choice downstairs with my 40 lb 3-year old. He doesn’t use the blanket and pillow, but if I don’t take them down with me, he cries like I beat him. I probably shouldn’t foster this behavior, but honestly at 4:30 AM…it just isn’t the hill I want to die on. Once we make it downstairs, we have to get the chocolate milk out of the fridge that was made the night before and got to the couch and cuddle for a half-hour while we watch Little Einsteins. After a sufficient amount of cuddle time, I take Gabe into to go potty and then proceed to get ready for work.
  • If Evie wakes up, she’s hungry. So, the moment Evie awakes, I stop what I’m doing, get her out of her crib and take her downstairs. Proceed to change her diaper and dress her if it isn’t a bath day. Give her medicine and a bottle. Then proceed to get ready for work.
  • By 6:00 or 6:30 AM: I’m typically getting ready for work…hair, make-up, clothes
  • By 6:30 AM/7:00 AM: Make Gabe’s breakfast and make myself breakfast if I have time.
  • 7:15 AM: Wake Mike up and if Evie hasn’t awakened yet, get her up and changed and started on a bottle.
  • 7:30 AM: Out the door on my way to work.
  • 8:00 AM – ?: My workday is typically 9 hours. It can often be 10 hours and occasionally more.
  • 5:30 PM-6:45 PM: I’m usually home around 6:00 PM give or take. Then I change into casual clothes and get dinner ready. If I get home after 6:30 PM, Mike typically heads right to bed. If I get home before 6:30 PM, we’ll typically eat together. Usually though, Mike heads to bed at 6:30 PM, so if we are lucky we might get 30-45 minutes together as a family.
  • 6:30 PM: It is just me and the kids.
  • 6:30-7:30 PM: I try to spend this time hanging out with the kids and I usually try to get one load of laundry done. If Gabe is receptive, I can get him to do some housework with me.
  • 7:30 PM: Time to brush Gabe’s teeth and clean up toys
  • 7:45 PM: Make chocolate milk (one for now and one for morning), get Gabe to go to the bathroom and cuddle up with some Little Einsteins.
  • 8:30 PM: Take Gabe upstairs and wake up Mike. If I had a chance to do some laundry, I take up the folded clothes and put them away at this time. Dad and/or I may read a book to Gabe at this time.
  • 8:45 PM: Put Gabe in bed and Mike and I try to get a few minutes of cuddle time on the couch before he leaves for work.
  • 9:00 PM-9:15 PM: Mike leaves for work.
  • After 9:15 PM: If I have the energy, I’ll try to do some housework or more laundry. I also must get my shower because I don’t have the ability to shower in the morning now.
  • 10:30-Midnight: Off to bed. When I’m being smart, I’m in bed by 10:30 PM. Some nights I get it in my head that I have to do stuff around the house &/or Avon or I get sucked into a TV show and don’t get to bed until midnight. Not smart when I could end up wrangling children in 4+ hours.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not complaining. I love my family. I adore my husband and children. I never thought I could enjoy something quite as much as I enjoy being a Mom. I guess the moral of this story is that if I don’t take &/or return your call, I still love you. If I don’t blog regularly (or at all), it isn’t because I don’t have something to say. If I seem tired & exhausted, there is a good reason. If I’m not available on the weekend it is because I’m trying to soak up some much needed time with my husband while trying to get groceries and run errands that weren’t run during the week.

1 Comment

  1. Brenda said,

    February 29, 2008 at 12:39 am

    We need a scheduled playdate, just so we CAN see each other! 😉
    Love you!
    Miss you!


Leave a Reply

