An Apple A Day

I had my 1st follow-up doc visit today. The news is both good and bad…but overall it is good. I’ve lost 7 lbs since my visit a month ago and the doc was very pleased with that. I’ve lost 14 lbs total since I was in the hospital. My blood sugars are much better and out of the danger zone. They are still a little higher at fasting than they should be though. For those of you that understand these readings, here it goes. My blood pressure…which hasn’t ever been an issue outside of pregnancy was 110 over 64. Still not an issue. My pulse was 70. I think that is fine too. Now here are the results of my lab work:

My A1C (which basically determines where my blood sugar averages over time) was 10.1 when I was at the hospital. Today it was 7.3. For people without diabetes the normal range is 4-6. For people with diabetes the goal is to be under 7. I’m almost there.

My overall cholesterol in the hospital was 158, now it is 155. My HDL cholesterol, the good cholesterol, was 12 in the hospital. It should be above 50! Now it is 35. So, that is getting better too. My LDL cholesterol was 100 in the hospital. It needs to be under 100 and ideally below 70. Today it was 90.

My triglyceride level was 229 in the hospital. Normal: Less than 150, Borderline High: 150-199, High: 200-499, and Very High: 500. So I was way over where I should be. Today it was 147!

My doctor was ecstatic. He even left to tell the P.A., who I saw a month ago and she came in all excited too. He said that he hoped I didn’t mind that he shared with Noell, but they were excited to actually see someone make a change and improve so much.

So that is all very good news and things are going even better than expected. The bad part though is that not only do I still have to take my current medication…and I’m currently taking $900 worth of medication, but I need to add to it. The test results show that there is protein in my urine. Which, the doc said was probably because of the diabetic strain on them for who knows how long. So, add yet another medication to help my kidneys. He does suspect that as I lose more weight, continue to eat well and exercise that I will be able to reduce and/or cut out medication, including this one. So, between vitamins and my medication, I take 3 pills every morning. 4 pills with dinner. 4 pills at bedtime and a shot at bedtime. I don’t like taking medication. I never have. I don’t even like to take over-the-counter medication when I have a headache. So, I really hate this and I feel like such a financial burden to my family. That really sucks.

I do feel much better overall and I think this has brought about a long overdue change, not only for me, but for my family.

2 Comments

  1. Brenda said,

    June 9, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Your labs are awesome!! Way to go!! 😀

    Doesn’t your insurance cover your meds at least in part?? $900 is crazy!! 😯

  2. Jenifer said,

    June 9, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Nope. My insurance doesn’t cover didly squat and it doesn’t consider diabetes medication as “preventative” since it was a pre-exisiting condition.

    How about preventing death you A-holes? 👿


Leave a Reply

