He Does Provide

A former co-worked informed me of a very helpful program, designed to help families that are struggling to make ends meet. I wasn’t sure what to think of Angel Food Ministries at first but I was definitely intrigued. It is no secret that we are struggling financially and this co-worker/friend had heard me on the phone many times trying to talk down our pharmaceutical provider and hospital billing departments. She was aware of our struggles. Her daughter is struggling too. She is a single mother of two that isn’t quite able to make ends meet. I’m not sure how, but she found the program and her mother was kind enough to share it with me.

Basically, local churches work with Angel Food Ministries to provide this service. AFM works with retailers to provide food at a discount. The food isn’t out-dated or even soon to expire. It is supposed to be enough food in one box to feed a family of 4 for a week. One box is $30.00. I typically spend about $130 for a week’s worth of groceries. I could get 4 boxes of “Angel Food” and still not spend what we spend in one week. I was skeptical about the quality of food, so for my first order in September, I only ordered 1 box. I picked up my box of food on Saturday and planned my menu around these items.

So, far, I’m not at all disappointed in the quality. For only $30 I received the following:

1.5 lbs Top Sirloin Strip Steaks
2 lb Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
3 lbs Breaded Chicken Chunks (Popcorn Chicken)
1.5 lb Boneless Pork Filet
20 oz. Supreme Pizza
1 lb. Ground Turkey
1 lb. Cheddar Cheese Bratwurst Sausage
1 lb. Green Beans
1 lb. Stir Fry Vegetables
35 oz. Crinkle Cut Fries
32 oz. Borden 2% Reduced Fat Shelf Stable Milk
7.5 oz. Macaroni & Cheese
15 oz. Pork & Beans
7 oz. Chicken-Flavored Rice & Vermicelli
1 lb. Pinto Beans
1 dz. Eggs
1 box Chocolate Chip Cookies

To top it off, 2 of the 4 members in our household are still young and not typically big eaters, so the food stretches even further. I’ll have some items to carry us over into next weeks menu. I think this is an awesome program and I’m grateful for the service!

3 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    October 1, 2008 at 8:19 am

    🙂 THAT is very cool Jen!! Yay!

  2. Brenda said,

    October 9, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Wow! That’s awesome!! Can I get that information, please??

  3. Jenifer said,

    October 9, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Go to http://www.angelfoodministries.com/ and search for a providing location in your area. Then call the church and see when they take monthly orders and when they distribute monthly orders. It really is an excellent deal.


Leave a Reply

