Good Bill of Health

I had my diabetes check-up today and things are going well. I last reported on my June doc visit in this post. The doc is still very pleased! I haven’t been losing as much weight as quickly, but he said I’m losing it in a time frame that is healthy and that I need to quit being so hard on myself, but continue to be diligent. I’ve lost 6 lbs since my last doc visit and he was happy with that.

We didn’t do the over-all cholesterol check, but we did do lab work to check on my A1C. It is a 6.0! If you recall from my previous post, my A1C (which basically determines where my blood sugar averages over time) was 7.3 at my last visit. For people without diabetes the normal range is 4-6. For people with diabetes the goal is to be under 7. Iā€™m there! His exact words were that this is perfect! If it continues to lower as I lose weight we’ll need to start reducing my insulin. In fact, we may need to start reducing my insulin sooner. He wants me to pay attention to my body. I explained that occasionally I have low sugar even after meals. That is a sign that my body is getting better and insulin may not be needed or may be greatly reduced sometime in the future. So, he wants me to pay attention and if I start getting regular lows after mealtime, we are reducing my insulin. This is what I want to hear! We’ve met our deductible, so my meds are free and clear, but the new calendar year isn’t far away. My diabetes meds cost me roughly $1500 every 3 months until my deductible is met. That is a lot of money and it is a lot of money that we don’t have.

I must admit, that I was a little nervous. I had full reports on my blood sugars and they’ve been very good. So, I wasn’t worried about that. I was worried that he’d be disappointed that I didn’t lose more weight. He wasn’t, in fact he was extremely impressed and assured me that I’ve been one of his best diabetes patients ever. I feel pretty good about that. He would like me to lose 6 lbs by my next visit in February. I CAN TOTALLY DO THAT! šŸ™‚

1 Comment

  1. Michele said,

    October 17, 2008 at 10:25 am

    šŸ˜‰ Way to go Jen!! Keep up the great work! :mrgreen:


Leave a Reply

