To a very special Mother

On rare occasions, usually around Valentine’s Day, our anniversary, or your birthday, I’ll sit in front of our keyboard staring vacantly at a blank document on the monitor. I try to put together words that can adequately describe how I feel. Sometimes, I’ll get a paragraph or even two out. But invariably, I fail.

And I will again today.

But I’m going to try anyway.

It’s not enough to say that you are my best friend. But you are my best friend.

It’s not enough to say that in a thousand lifetimes, I couldn’t find a better mother for my children. But there is no better mother for my children.

My limited vocabulary doesn’t contain the words that would express my gratitude for all you do for our family and my appreciation and awe at the sacrifices you have made. But I am so very grateful for the struggle and sacrifice you make for our marriage and our family.

It’s not enough to say “I love you.”

But I’ll continue to sit in front of my blank document. I’ll continue to hammer away at the keyboard failing endlessly to find the words that are enough. Maybe someday I’ll get lucky. Maybe someday, I’ll find the words. But until then, just know…

I love you.

Thank you for being my best friend. Thank you for being such a wonderful mother to our children. Thank you for everything you do for our family.
Happy Mother’s Day, Jenifer.

2 Comments

  1. Brenda said,

    May 10, 2009 at 8:44 am

    😥

    How incredibly sweet!! You are a very, VERY lucky lady Jen! Happy Mother’s Day!

  2. Michele said,

    May 10, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    :cry::cry::cry::cry:

    OMG, THAT was amazing.


Leave a Reply

