Happy Father's Day

I set out to find the perfect greeting card for Mike for Father’s Day. There are so many cards but none of them say enough. I know I’ve mentioned many times before how desperately I wanted to be a Mom. The evolution of that thought has been an interesting one. In my childhood years, I was certain I would have a black baby. I even had the cutest little black baby doll that I cared for. As a teenager and even a young adult I wanted to have a baby all on my own. I was young and jaded. I was sure that all Dad’s left and the ones that stuck around weren’t any good, so I thought I would just do it on my own.

As I grew into a woman, I realized that the color and sex of child did not matter. I didn’t just want to be a Mom. I wanted a family. I wanted to marry a man that would love me and my children selflessly. I wanted a stable family. I wanted to give my children two parents that loved each other and wouldn’t leave each other or them.

I have no idea how I got so lucky, but I got that and more. I couldn’t begin to thank Mike for all the sacrifices he makes for our family. He works so hard and he sleep so little. He manages to care for our children every day after just a couple of hours of sleep. He cares for me. Not a day goes by that he doesn’t ask me how my day was at work and he isn’t just asking. If I don’t have a story to give him about the day, I think he gets concerned. He really wants to know. He wants to be my sounding board when I need it.

Those of you who follow my blog or know me, have probably heard my philosophy about “giving chairs” from the movie Phenomenon. If you don’t get it, I suggest watching the movie, that will explain it more than I can. Mike buys my chairs all the time and he always has. Just one example: I love animals. One of my passions is backyard birds. Pre-children, I had many different kinds of bird feeders for the birds and squirrels. I have my binoculars so I can check out the ones that are too far away. I’d love to see them in our back yard. I especially love seeing new birds that I can’t identify at a glance so I can figure out what they are. Mike participates in my love and fascination of birds. Many times, he’ll call me away from what I’m doing to look out the kitchen window and see a bird or squirrel. He’s even sent me pictures at work of birds that he’s seen in the yard.

He’s indulged so many of my fleeting fancies, like Stamping or Gardening.

He tolerates my OCD and sometimes even caters to it.

He loves me and his children selflessly. He is absolutely the best husband and dad we could ask for. I’m so thankful and so blessed.

1 Comment

  1. June 17, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    […] Another Father’s Day post basically stating the obvious.  I’m a luck wife and my kids are super lucky!  Titled Happy Father’s Day. […]


Leave a Reply

