Thank you God, for my Daddy

Last night as we put our kids to bed, Gabe choked me up a little bit. You see we have a bed time routine. Evie doesn’t always get it, she’s still pretty young, but Gabe gets it. I always ask the kids, “What is your favorite thing?” or “Who is your favorite person?” or both. After they give me an answer we say a prayer and thank God for our favorite things. I still help Evie form the words for the prayer, but I no longer need to help Gabe. He does an excellent job with his own prayer these days.

Now, just before bed last night, Gabe was pretending to be a doggy. He wanted a dog toy, so Mike drew, colored and cut out a dog toy from paper. Gabe thought it was swell. Consequently, he took it to bed and when asked, what was his favorite thing, he said it was his dog toy. So, after he said his “favorite thing” he went right into his prayer on his own. Now, I think we both expected a simple, “Thank you God for my dog toy. Amen.” We should know to expect a bit more from our son though. ūüôā

Gabe proceeded to say something along the lines of, “Thank you God for giving me such a good Daddy that makes me such a great dog toy. Amen.”

Man, I love that kid!

2 Comments

  1. March 6, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    […] So many wonderful moments since then. ¬†Some made it into the blog, some are in my head. ¬† Such as Gabe’s nightly prayer in August of last year: “Thank you God for giving me such a good Daddy that makes me such a great dog toy. Amen.” ¬†Click here for full post. […]

  2. June 17, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    […] Gabe saying a prayer and thanking God for his great Dad. ¬†Titled¬†Thank you God, for my Daddy. […]


Leave a Reply

