So Blessed and So Thankful

I’ve been thinking about writing a Thanksgiving post and I’m a bit overwhelmed.  I just don’t know where to begin.  My life is so full of so many wonderful blessings.  I truly have no idea how I got to be so blessed, but Lord, thank you for everything.

In March, I will have my 10 year wedding anniversary.  10 years ago, I married my best friend.  Our relationship is so wonderful.  We don’t fight.   Really, we don’t.  I can’t even remember the last time we had an argument but I’m fairly certain it was before we tied the knot.  He is my best and closest friend.  He’s so funny.  He can always make me laugh with his dry and witty sense of humor.  He’s so handsome.  He is such an amazing Dad.  I remember a day when I was much younger and very jaded.  I didn’t think a Dad was necessary.  I was so wrong.  My children need him and love him so much.  I could easily spend every waking moment with him and be so content.  I’m so thankful for him and all the joy that he brings me every day.  Thank you Lord, for blessing me with such a wonderful husband and father of our children.

Then my beautiful children.  They are my proof that miracles still happen today.  They weren’t supposed to happen because my body was broken but God had another plan for us.  They fill up the places in my heart that I didn’t even know were empty.  Gabe is growing and learning so much now that he’s started kindergarten.  He’s like a little sponge soaking it all up and it is amazing to watch.  He’s my sweet handsome boy.  Evie is so beautiful and so full of personality.  She’s going to be a strong person there is no doubt in my mind.  I love her sassy disposition.  I love her beautiful face.  I love them both so completely.  Thank you Lord, for still performing miracles!

This past year, I’ve been blessed with a really great gift.  My Mom.  Last January my Mom and her husband moved from Washington State to Omaha, Nebraska.  You know, I’ll be honest.  I was glad that they were moving back but I didn’t think it would change much.  I thought she would get caught up in her life.  My family didn’t have that kind of closeness that many families have.  I was wrong.  The Lord has worked in my Mom.  She came back a different woman.  We see each other frequently and I look forward to the next date on the calendar that we are getting together.  My kids adore them both.  You should see the way Evie’s face lights up when she sees “Gwammaw”.  It is an amazing gift that I can tell you is something I always wanted but never expected would happen.  Thank you Lord, for giving me my Mom and for giving her a wonderful husband and for doing this amazing work within her.

I also need to mention another change in my family.  My Dad.  Several years ago he moved to a farm in Missouri.  I didn’t really want him to go, but I can’t believe how much it has turned around his life.  Right away I could see how much happier he was there.  In addition, in the past few years he quit drinking.  My Dad has always been the easy-going, fun-loving joker and that hasn’t changed but I love seeing him so happy.  I do wish he were closer because I miss him a lot but I’d rather he be happy in Missouri.  Thank you Lord, for giving my Dad the life he was seeking.

I mentioned getting married to my husband 10 years ago, well another wonderful thing happened then too.  I married into his family.  They are such a gift to me.  You will NEVER hear me bad mouth my in-laws because there just isn’t anything bad to say.  They showed we how a tight-knit and loving family works.  My Mother and Father-in-law are such incredible parents and they raised 4 amazing men.  My brother-in-laws are all great husbands and fathers.  I have a picture on my wall of all of us (we’ve grown a lot in the past several years!) and every time I walk by it and see our family all together it brings me joy.  Thank you Lord for giving me a wonderful family when you gave me my wonderful husband.

I have more friends than I can mention by name.  Which in itself is a blessing.   All of my friends have given me something special.  I have friends that give me unconditional acceptance, I have friends that give me tough love when I need it, I have friends that always make me laugh, I have so many friends that touched my life at some point and time.  So many genuine and wonderful people.  Thank you Lord for blessing me with so many wonderful people.

I’m sure I’m only scratching the surface here.  I can’t even believe how blessed I am and how thankful I am for everything.  Happy Thanksgiving everyone and I pray that you all have all have as many blessings, if not more!

Leave a Reply

