Recipe Save – Vegetable Mulligatawny

I have recipes stored all over the internet.  You can find my recipes at Meals Matter, Zip List, All Recipes, etc.  Then it dawned on me that I have this blog that I’m rarely able to update and is a perfect database to store content that I’d like to access again.  So, why not store my recipes here?!?

So, let it begin with the delicious vegetable mulligatawny that I made on Thursday.  I made it with the intention of having a vegetable soup to accompany our meals for a week.  It is almost gone!  It was really great.  I started with a recipe found at Diabetic Living Online but I modified so it could be an meal accompanying veggie side dish.

  • 2 stalks or 1 cup celery, very finely chopped (I use an electric chopper)
  • 4 carrots, chopped (I think I prefer matchstick chops but sometimes slice or dice to save time and it is just as good)
  • 1 medium  Granny Smith apple, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 turnips or parsnips, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cans chickpeas or garbanzo beans
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 6 cups chicken broth (you could substitute vegetable broth if you are looking for a vegetarian dish, I typically use water and bouillon)
  • 1/2 cup uncooked basmati rice (I prefer basmati but have used other rices when emptying my pantry surplus and it works)
  • 1 cup or 1 can of coconut milk
  1. In a dutch oven or soup pot place celery, carrots, apple, onion, turnips and garlic.
  2. Turn heat on lowly and add the following spices stirring it into the mix after each spice:  curry powder, ginger, coriander, cumin, cardamom, turmeric, and cayenne pepper.
  3. Pour broth or water and bouillon over the mixture.
  4. Open a can of chickpeas (do not drain) and puree in a blender.  Pour into the soup and repeat with the second can.  I find that it is easier to puree them one at a time.
  5. Cover and cook on low-heat until vegetables are tender (about 1 hour).
  6. Add rice and cook for another 30 minutes to an hour or until rice is tender.
  7. Stir in coconut milk before serving.

Cook’s note:  If I were making for guests I would garnish with some chopped cilantro.  I’ve also made this in a slow-cooker / crockpot before.  Still delicious.  🙂

Leave a Reply

