Are you a closet hoarder?

I suspect that many of us have closet hoarding tendencies and many of us are probably just outright hoarders.  My husband hoards more and more as he gets older.  It isn’t necessarily a bad thing.   I tend to throw things away with reckless abandon.  For example, the knobs for the burners on our stove have all broken through the years.  Before last week I was down to just one knob that I used to work each burner.  It was a major pain.  This week Mike purchased new knobs for the stove.  It is a beautiful thing!  I can’t even remember when I last had 4 working knobs!!!  The one knob that was left over was sitting on my spice counter.  I saw it and immediately thought “garbage” and threw it away.  Mike promptly dug it out of the trash to stash away somewhere in case one of the knobs ever breaks again.  Not an unreasonable thing to do and, in fact, probably quite a smart “hoard” actually.

Then there is my hoarding tendency.  I apologize for the grossness but I must admit I have a problem.  You see, I have something in my head that tells me that any tissue used to blow my nose can and should be used more than one time.  Here is the flaw in that thinking.  I never do.  So what we have here is bunches of used tissues all over the house that myself or, more likely, my husband, have to go through and throw away.

Do you hoard?  If so, what is it?  Is it practical or completely illogical, like me 🙂  ?

Leave a Reply

