Recipe Save: Meatballs

Origin:  Modified internet recipe
Total Preparation Time: 20 minutes
Actual Cooking Time using microwave method: 10-15 minutes
Actual Cooking Time using pot of sauce method: 3 hours
Number of Servings: 4-6

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Preparation Instructions

  1. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl by hand.
  2. Use your bare hands for best results.
  3. Roll meatballs to about the size of a golf ball.

Microwave Cooking Instructions

  1. Place meatballs on a microwave safe plate, as close together without touching.
  2. Microwave from 5-10 minutes or until each meatball is done.  I typically stop the microwave after a few minutes and move them around and turn them over.
  3. Drop in sauce and serve.

Pot of Sauce Cooking Instructions

  1. Drop meatballs into large pot of sauce.
  2. Simmer or cook on low in a slow cooker for at least 3 hours or until meatballs are cooked all the way through

Cook’s Note:

I honestly prefer the microwave method equally to the pot of sauce method.  Whatever is most convenient for me is how I proceed.  I make my spaghetti sauce in a slow cooker during the day.  If I know I can be home to drop the meatballs into the sauce, I’ll do that.  If I have to work and it is more convenient to make them in the microwave I do that.  My family loves them either way.

Leave a Reply

